

The United Nations Office for Outer Space Affairs (UNOOSA)

Abstract

The United Nations Office for Outer Space Affairs (UNOOSA) is the designated committee for the international interactions regarding Outer Space matters. This Office is centered around international cooperation regarding external space technology, which in turn includes science, economic rewards, and social and sustainable development. The board has the duty to regulate and establish legal procedures regarding space activities and applications. UNOOSA's director is Ms. Simonetta Di Pippo, whose main job is to maintain responsibility for the Office's management and administration. Nowadays, the Committee is made up of 95 members.

It was created as a complement of the United Nations Secretariat to service the Committee on the Peaceful Uses of Outer Space, which was established by the General Assembly in its resolution 1348 (XIII) of 13 December 1958. Later, the unit worked under the Department of Political and Security Council Affairs in 1962 and was transformed into the Outer Space Affairs Division of that Department in 1968. It was until 1992, that the Division turned into the Office for Outer Space Affairs within the Department for Political Affairs. In 1993, the Office was relocated to the United Nations Office at Vienna, the place where the Office is located nowadays (UNOOSA, 2020).

This Office is responsible for promoting international peaceful cooperation in the uses of outer space working hand in hand with the General Assembly as well as the Committee on the Peaceful Uses of Outer Space (COPUOS). Besides, it has an essential role regarding international space law and maintaining the United Nations Register of Objects Launched into Outer Space by their treaties and principles. It should be mentioned that, nowadays, the UNOOSA is also in collaboration to reach the UN Sustainable Development Goals, in a subunit called Space4SDGs (UNOOSA, 2020).









The treaties established by the Office, referred as the "five United Nations Treaties on outer space", are the following: the "Outer Space Treaty", "Rescue Agreement", "Liability Convention", "Registration Convention" and the "Moon Agreement". On the other hand, the five declarations and legal principles of UNOOSA are as follows: "Declaration of Legal Principles", "Broadcasting Principles", "Remote Sensing Principles", "Nuclear Power Sources" and "Benefits Declaration" (UNOOSA, 2020).









Reference:

 UNOOSA. (2020). About us. From https://www.unoosa.org/oosa/en/aboutus/index.html. Retrieved November 17, 2020.





