United Nations Security Council (UNSC)

The United Nations Security Council is made up by five permanent members who hold veto power -the United States of America, the People’s Republic of China, the Russian Federation, the French Republic and the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland-, and ten other States which are non-permanent members. The Security Council has been working since the ending of World War ll, it was founded in 1945 and the countries that won the War are the ones that remain as permanent members.

Therefore, the Security Council has an important role in the governance of the UN system. It has the responsibility of approving the admission of new member states to the UN. The Security Council also calls up the parties to mediation in order to reach peaceful agreements and, recommends adjustment methods for bilateral consolidation. The Council’s day-to-day functions include the review of UN peacekeeping operations, consultations on specific country situations and monitoring the implementation of UN sanctions regimes through the work of its sanctions committees.